Written By: UMA Editorial Team |

Published on: December 21, 2023

“Astrology is one of the oldest and most accurate tools known to mankind.”

—Chris Flisher [1]

Vedic astrology, also known as Jyotish, is an ancient form of astrology that originated in India. The term “Jyotish” in Sanskrit refers to the science of light or heavenly bodies. It holds a significant place among the six Vedangas, which are auxiliary disciplines used to comprehend and interpret the sacred texts of Hinduism known as the Vedas.[2]

Vedic astrology encompasses the profound study and interpretation of celestial bodies, including planets and stars. Its core practices involve the meticulous analysis of birth charts, known as Kundali or Janam Patrika, meticulously crafted based on the precise time, date, and place of birth. 

Insights on Vedic Astrology

According to Pratiksha Dadhich, The scope of Vedic Astrology knows no bounds. It aims to provide comprehensive guidance, accurate timelines, and a glimpse into future possibilities. Its primary purpose is to assist individuals in navigating their problems and challenges effectively. By drawing on ancient wisdom and celestial insights, Vedic astrology offers invaluable support on the journey of self-discovery and personal growth.


Vedic astrology, as explained by Pranati Nanda, is rooted in the belief that the celestial bodies hold significant sway over our lives. According to the Vedas, one’s past actions, or karma, are intricately linked to the position of stars and planets. Astrology serves as a means to comprehend this connection by analyzing these celestial positions.

Within Vedic astrology, there exist 12 Zodiac signs, 9 Planets, 2 Stellar planets, (5 Planets 2 shadow planets), and 27 stars. Its purpose extends beyond mere fortune-telling; it encompasses a comprehensive understanding of life’s various aspects. Whether it pertains to future successes in endeavors such as marriage, relocating to a new home, or embarking on a business venture, astrology offers insights.

“Astrology is a Language. If you understand this language, The Sky Speaks to You.”
—Dane Rudhyar

In the realm of Vedic astrology, the ultimate goals of human life are dharma, Artha, Kama, and moksha – each holding its own significance and pursuit. Through this ancient and exquisite art, Vedic astrology endeavors to bestow profound guidance and invaluable insights into the magnificent voyage of one’s life.